#PeopleOfDFW Jim

Jim worked in the oil business for decades. Worked hard. Made a good amount of money and has looked after his family well. Now, at age 71 he’s excited and getting ready to marry a lady who’s swept him away.

For 41 years he was married to someone else. Just a few years before she had fought the long hard battle against cancer and cancer won. The entire family felt the loss, but he knows she lived well and he believes she would want him to move on in these last decades of his own life.

So he’s getting married. By the time you read this he will be married. They’re going to buy a house near the beach and move out of state. Live in married bliss during retirement. As we Uber he tells me excitedly that he is looking forward to their honeymoon during which time he has scored tickets to a Bryan Adams concert. They’re both fans and they can’t wait to hear him live.

I smiled at him as we talked, letting him know I appreciate “Summer of 69” as much as the next man. He looks down at his phone for a second, “You know, I can bring it up on Youtube.” So he does. Not only that, but an entire album. As we travel along the Chilsholm Trail and by downtown Fort Worth, Bryan Adams blares from the speakers and he is happy. I’m happy.

At 71 he’s listening to Bryan Adams and giving me Uber tips.

I dropped him off at the airport and he looked at me one more time, “You know, my father always taught me that no matter how long or short a time you spend with someone you should always seek to leave them better off than before you met. Thank you for doing that and I hope I did the same.”

He did.

 

 

Published by

mdingrimsby1

I'm the author of The World of Pangea, a blogger and eSports journalist. In my spare time I love to write about the history of fantasy, writing tips, family history and occasionally politics. Sometimes I interview other authors and review their work. I am an avid collector of Superman comics and I love to write poetry.

2 thoughts on “#PeopleOfDFW Jim”

Leave a Reply

